Stages of Erik Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development

Essay details

Please note! This essay has been submitted by a student.

Download PDF

First stage – Trust vs Mistrust

In the first stage from Erikson stages starts at an infant and goes on through to 18 months. From this stage the infants are learning to trust others. Especially the one who care for them they trust them by making them feel cared for and their needs.

Second stage – Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt

At the second stage the child is around the age of 18 months to three years old. In this stage they are taught how to change their clothes and also feeding themselves. A child may feel out of place if he/she can’t do the task as other children are doing without help.

Essay due? We'll write it for you!

Any subject

Min. 3-hour delivery

Pay if satisfied

Get your price

Third stage – Initiative vs Guilt

When a child has reached stage three they are around three to five years old. At his stage children are already doing things on their own and learning new things that are being introduced to them, especially new things they are learning while in school. They know that they can do task that are told to them but may feel some guilt if they have to ask for assistance.

Fourth stage – Industry vs Inferiority

At stage four the child is between five to thirteen years old. When they reach this stage, a child is mature and his level of awareness has increased. When asked to do a task they understand logical reasoning, scientific facts, along with other material taught in school. They also develop confidence when seeing that they can achieve things other kids their age can do, also are risk takers when trying to succeed at a task. If they fail when attempting a task, they can be a little inferior to others

Fifth stage – Identity vs Role Confusion

During adolescence stage they are around thirteen to twenty-one years old. At this stage they develop sexual identity. They start to discover themselves and find meaning in their life. This is the age bracket that they find a transition to adulthood. Try to fit into society with looks or people around them, also are a bit confused about activities that are age appreciate.

Sixth stage – Intimacy vs Isolation

Erikson sixth stage is for young adults around the age of twenty-one to thirty-one years old. Intimacy is a vital role, they become worries about trying to find the right “one”. These young adults are afraid of being alone for the rest of their lives. They are more vulnerable to find love and share a lifelong commitment. Some will wait, and others keep going and may spend the rest of their life single.

Seventh stage – Generativity versus Stagnation

Adults who are forty to sixty-five are likely to find meaning in life and also in their work. At this stage they feel that they should be able to contribute more meaningful to society, if failed they fell like they’ve let down people and are unproductive to society.

Eighth stage – Ego Integrity vs Despair

At the last stage, the elderly adults are sixty-five or older who are normally retired. From this point they feel more fulfillments about what they’ve done in their younger years. It is important that when they look back when they were younger they feel content about how they lived and achieved what they wanted and lived to the fullest. A sense of despair comes when they feel that they didn’t live life and take advantage of their youth.

Get quality help now

Sir. Ken

Verified writer

Proficient in: Developmental Psychology, Psychologists, Behavioral Psychology

4.8 (192 reviews)
“This is an exceptional writer. Listened to instructions very well and produced paper before the deadline. ”

+75 relevant experts are online

banner clock
Clock is ticking and inspiration doesn't come?
We`ll do boring work for you. No plagiarism guarantee. Deadline from 3 hours.

We use cookies to offer you the best experience. By continuing, we’ll assume you agree with our Cookies policy.